Another poster made the point in another thread.
Since Venus, withdrew, WHY can't K Sprem play Momo in the final.
I think this would be a great change in the rules.
This would be the rule. "If a player withdraws from a scheduled match, the player that she defeated in the previous round would have an option of continuing to play in that match."
The only catch is that a player that LOST one match just might be able to claim the title.
The upside is that a FINAL would have been played at the tourney.
Perhaps it should only apply for the final match??
Any thoughts on this??
If this had been in play at Wimbledon 2003, we might have seen Serena vs Kim in the final, and Venus could have avoided further injury by not playing the final with the recurring abdominal strain that caused her to miss the rest of the year. Venus felt obligated to play the final for the fans at the event.
Even though she won a set, she should not have played.