Once and for all, Kim's V@S wins count, like it or not. - TennisForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 06:36 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 10,797
                     
Once and for all, Kim's V@S wins count, like it or not.

In light of Elena Dementieva possibly being in a rare moment of beating the WIlliams sisters in the same tournament, it's driving me crazy that people keep saying that Kim Clijsters "victory" over Venus in the semis and Serena in the finals of the 2002 YEC do not count.

So let's get it straight once and for all. It does not matter if you, me the pope or the people of Seychelles Islands disagree, according to the rules of the WTA, Kim's 5-0 retired match against Venus counts as a win for Kim.

So unless sometime in the future the WTA says it's changing the rules and that "victory" does not count, Kim has officially beaten both sisters in the same tournament.

You may not like fine but that's the way it is...........DEAL WITH IT.
Jakeev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Mr_Molik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 8,571
                     
if only she could do it in a slam...........
Mr_Molik is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
azza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: EVIES THROAT CHOKING.....
Posts: 24,931
                     
im dealing just fine Kim
azza is offline  
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 10:38 AM
country flag ans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,992
                     
Of course it counts.
ans is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 10:53 AM
Senior Member
 
Glenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,834
                     
Yea, of course it counts...

N N




~|~ Justine Henin-Hardenne ~|~ ~|~ Karolina Sprem ~|~ ~|~ Ashley Harkleroad~|~ ~|~ Marissa Irvin ~|~ ~|~ Corina Morariu ~|~ ~|~ Anna Kournikova ~|~ ~|~ Clarisa Fernandez ~|~ ~|~ Flavia Pennetta ~|~ ~|~ Iroda Tulyaganova ~|~ ~|~ Lina Krasnoroutskaya ~|~ ~|~ Denisa Chladkova ~|~ ~|~ Patty Schnyder ~|~ ~|~ Aniko Kapros ~|~ ~|~ Daja Bedanova ~|~ ~|~ Maja Matevzic ~|~ ~|~ Alexandra Stevenson ~|~
Glenn is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Vass22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai
Posts: 2,519
                     
Don't worry Elena's win would stop counting the moment she does it, if she does it. Certain fans would say that the sisters were off and all, completely forgetting thier own predictions before the matches.

Everything counts. Go Kim and do it again.
Vass22 is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
jenny161185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,880
                     
it counts -

Tennis / Music / Film
jenny161185 is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 12:20 PM
NeverWoz
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 26,789
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakeev
In light of Elena Dementieva possibly being in a rare moment of beating the WIlliams sisters in the same tournament, it's driving me crazy that people keep saying that Kim Clijsters "victory" over Venus in the semis and Serena in the finals of the 2002 YEC do not count.

So let's get it straight once and for all. It does not matter if you, me the pope or the people of Seychelles Islands disagree, according to the rules of the WTA, Kim's 5-0 retired match against Venus counts as a win for Kim.

So unless sometime in the future the WTA says it's changing the rules and that "victory" does not count, Kim has officially beaten both sisters in the same tournament.

You may not like fine but that's the way it is...........DEAL WITH IT.
You're 200% right. But it wont change anything.
Ryan is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 01:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,079
                     
Venus just retired cause she knew Kim was too good that day.
for-sure is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 7,274
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakeev
In light of Elena Dementieva possibly being in a rare moment of beating the WIlliams sisters in the same tournament, it's driving me crazy that people keep saying that Kim Clijsters "victory" over Venus in the semis and Serena in the finals of the 2002 YEC do not count.

So let's get it straight once and for all. It does not matter if you, me the pope or the people of Seychelles Islands disagree, according to the rules of the WTA, Kim's 5-0 retired match against Venus counts as a win for Kim.

So unless sometime in the future the WTA says it's changing the rules and that "victory" does not count, Kim has officially beaten both sisters in the same tournament.

You may not like fine but that's the way it is...........DEAL WITH IT.
You must be crazy. Why wouldnt it count? The only time a match up result doesnt count is if there is a walkover because then the match never happens.

The WTA Women of Wonder Featuring....The Goddess: Venus Williams The Glamazon: Serena Williams The Lioness: Jennifer Capriati The High Priestess: Monica Seles The Saint: Kim Clijsters The Phoenix: Chanda Rubin The Bon Vivant: Amelie Mauresmo The Titan: Lindsay Davenport The Courtesan: Anna Kournikova The Exile: Martina Hingis The Sorceress: Anatasia Myskina The Minx: Maria Sharapova
Cybelle Darkholme is offline  
post #11 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 26,075
                     
Yeah officially Kim has beaten both Venus and Serena. In reality she hasn't, but she might have done it. Who knows.
GoDominique is offline  
post #12 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Vass22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai
Posts: 2,519
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybelle Darkholme
You must be crazy. Why wouldnt it count? The only time a match up result doesnt count is if there is a walkover because then the match never happens.
Injury?

Riding the 3AM Rollercoaster
Vass22 is offline  
post #13 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Experimentee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 13,064
                     
Whats the point of this thread? Everyone knows retirements go down officially, according to WTA.
Experimentee is offline  
post #14 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 7,274
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vass22
Injury?
Lets put it this way when monica was stabbed on court and had to retire that counted for her opponent so yes of course then an injury still counts as a win for the other player. WHY WOULDNT IT!

The WTA Women of Wonder Featuring....The Goddess: Venus Williams The Glamazon: Serena Williams The Lioness: Jennifer Capriati The High Priestess: Monica Seles The Saint: Kim Clijsters The Phoenix: Chanda Rubin The Bon Vivant: Amelie Mauresmo The Titan: Lindsay Davenport The Courtesan: Anna Kournikova The Exile: Martina Hingis The Sorceress: Anatasia Myskina The Minx: Maria Sharapova
Cybelle Darkholme is offline  
post #15 of 30 (permalink) Old Apr 3rd, 2004, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 7,274
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Experimentee
Whats the point of this thread? Everyone knows retirements go down officially, according to WTA.
The thread starter isn't so bright.

The WTA Women of Wonder Featuring....The Goddess: Venus Williams The Glamazon: Serena Williams The Lioness: Jennifer Capriati The High Priestess: Monica Seles The Saint: Kim Clijsters The Phoenix: Chanda Rubin The Bon Vivant: Amelie Mauresmo The Titan: Lindsay Davenport The Courtesan: Anna Kournikova The Exile: Martina Hingis The Sorceress: Anatasia Myskina The Minx: Maria Sharapova
Cybelle Darkholme is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome