Question about Maleeva's ranking points - TennisForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 05:51 AM Thread Starter
Team WTAworld
Senior Member
 
ghosts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 25,931
                     
Question about Maleeva's ranking points

She will get final points regardless of winning the semi by w/o, right?


My #1 in tennis
>> Tsvetana Pironkova <<








ghosts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pyongyan
Posts: 2,421
                     
Yes she will. Of course she won't be awarded with bonus points from beating Chanda for the obvious reason.
Doraemon is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 05:54 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosts
She will get final points regardless of winning the semi by w/o, right?
yes, but she won't get quality points for a w/o.
gnouctennis is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 06:07 AM Thread Starter
Team WTAworld
Senior Member
 
ghosts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 25,931
                     
so she gets final points even if she lose to Davenport?


My #1 in tennis
>> Tsvetana Pironkova <<








ghosts is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 06:09 AM
Senior Member
 
LucasArg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 16,319
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosts
so she gets final points even if she lose to Davenport?
Yes of course.

VENUS WILLIAMS
SERENA WILLIAMS
PAULA ORMAECHEA
LucasArg is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 06:13 AM
Senior Member
 
~ The Leopard ~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kissing my little Lolita
Posts: 13,105
                     
The way I think of it is that a walkover is win solely for the purpose of advancement in the tournament (which includes what stage of the tournament you reached for that component of ranking points). It is not a win or a loss for any other purpose, so it has no effect on either player's win/loss record or on quality points.

Vin, kvinder og sang
~ The Leopard ~ is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 06:15 AM Thread Starter
Team WTAworld
Senior Member
 
ghosts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 25,931
                     
no, they count the w/o wins or losses to the H2H...
one of the two Rubin's wins over Maleeva is by w/o


My #1 in tennis
>> Tsvetana Pironkova <<








ghosts is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
~ The Leopard ~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kissing my little Lolita
Posts: 13,105
                     
I used to see an asterisk beside a recorded walkover loss saying something like "does not count as an official win/loss". A walkover is different from a retirement.

Are you saying that walkovers are counted in the WTA's stats, or what? Or just that they are recorded in a data base so that they show up in H2H's?

I may well be wrong about this. I'm happy to be corrected, if so. But I'd like to know for sure what the position is as to what walkovers count for.

I mean, we all seem to agree that they get you to the next level of the tournament, which counts for ranking points, but that they don't count for quality points. If they count for anything else, can someone clarify it and be definite, as in posting an ITF/WTA rule about it or something?

Vin, kvinder og sang
~ The Leopard ~ is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 10:45 AM
Senior Member
 
crazillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 36,289
                     
what will maggie´s ranking be now, i think the quality points aren´t included as well. please show me aöll possibilities. nd what´s about doubles?

FLAVIA PENNETTA

US OPEN CHAMPION 2015

Thank you for all these moments over the last years! Supported you until your final point!
crazillo is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 10:52 AM
Sabatini lover Forever
 
spencercarlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 15,130
                     
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghosts
no, they count the w/o wins or losses to the H2H...
one of the two Rubin's wins over Maleeva is by w/o
You are a little confused i guess....
W/O NEVER COUNTS as a win..
Go this link http://www2.itftennis.com/PD/HeadToH...H.asp?Gender=F and search head 2 head records. A match that never started can not be counted.

And yes Maleeva advanced to the final despite not playing her semifinal match, but sure she gets Final round points...and even if she gets to the final winning ALL her matches via W/O she would get final round points as well. The Quality points are the ones taken away, because she did not played her match.

Gabriela Sabatini 2006 HOF
18 Grand Slam SF´s, Won 27 titles, 1 GS Sin, 1 GS in Dubs,2 Masters
Sabatini vs Martinez ?
Seasons in the top ten: Sabatini 10 Conchita 9
Straight Seasons in the top ten: Sabatini 10 Conchita 6
Seasons in the top 5: Sabatini 6 Conchita 5
Straight seasons in the top 5: Sabatini 6 Conchita 4
Tier II and above titles
Sabatini 24 Martinez 17
Record at the Masters
Sabatini has 2 titles 2 Runner up and 3 SF
Martinez has 0 titles, 0 RU, and 0 Sf
Record against the best players
Sabatini 40% Martinez 21%
Head to Head
Sabatini leads 9-6 over Martinez
FWTT Hard 111(111 + ny)Carpet 104(104 + ny)Clay 107(107 + 4) Grass 100(100 ny)
spencercarlos is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
~ The Leopard ~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kissing my little Lolita
Posts: 13,105
                     
Thanks, petosp, that's how I always thought it worked. Thought I was going mad.

Vin, kvinder og sang
~ The Leopard ~ is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old Feb 7th, 2004, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
~ The Leopard ~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Kissing my little Lolita
Posts: 13,105
                     
And just to prove the point, the data base is up to date (e.g. it has the AO final in it), but it does not include the match that never happened at the AO between Mauresmo and Zuluaga. Any unofficial database or H2H listing that includes walkovers should therefore specify that they don't officially count.

Vin, kvinder og sang
~ The Leopard ~ is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the TennisForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome