The 3rd set tie break issue (or: How important is doubles for the players?)
At 6-6 (against the Williams sisters),
Kirilenko and Petrova asked the umpire if there's a tiebreak.
I don't know a lot about doubles but I know that Kirilenko/Petrova won some tournaments and are one of the best 10 doubles team.
How is it possible that they don't know the rules for a Grand Slam match!?
They lead 4-1 and lost 7-9 and I don't think it was good for them that there were no tiebreak, especially because the momentum was their side until (let's say 6-6) and the info that there is no tiebreak probably affected them a bit.
I just want to ask you if this a specific case in doubles and the rules are not 100% clear because doubles are by far not as important as singles?
Or is that just a silly mistake from the russians?
What do you think?
Titel [Suicide T.]: Stuttgart 2017, Doha 2017, Tokyo II 2017, Doha 2016, Linz 2015,
Marrakesch 2014, YEC Singapur 2014, Rom 2013, Guangzhou 2013, Peking 2012 & Fes 2012
[TT]: ITF Cagnes-Sur-Mer 2011 & ITF Hechingen 2012
[FITD]: Biel 2017, Tokyo I & II 2017, s'Hertogenbosch 2016, Peking 2016 & Budapest 2013