The Wednesday day session began with a compelling matchup on Center Court between Daniela Hantuchova and her doubles partner, Ai Sugiyama. Sugiyama, who was wearing a light lime green outfit, looked to be in fine spirits as she smiled and remained loose during the warm-up. As play began Sugiyama's steady baseline game proved to be too much for Hantuchova, who seemed to be a bit off as she was spraying forehands and backhands left and right. Sugiyama comfortably took the first set 6-4 despite some brilliant down the line backhands courtesy of Hantuchova, who seemed to be the only player able to pull off Nike's quite revealing white lacey outfit featuring a mini-skirt and a cropped top.
In the second set Daniela pulled her game together combining impressive strategy and mental toughness to take the second set 6-1. Hantuchova showed great placement on her serve as she often swung Sugiyama out wide while keeping her guessing with a few down the center bombs. Her composure on court rivaled that of Graf, and her shot selection was as intelligent as that of Hingis.
The real drama began in the third set with Hantuchova receiving her first warning and time violation while serving down 0-1. Daniela held comfortably for 1-1 despite the violation, while Sugiyama did the same in the next game to take a 2-1 lead. In Hantuchova's next service game Sugiyama broke at 15, and Daniela returned the favor in the next game to get things back on serve at 2-3 and then 3-3 after holding comfortably. All went with serve up to 6-5 in the third, including a dramatic game at 5-5 where Hantuchova got a time violation point penalty giving Sugiyama an ad to close out her service game and lead 6-5.
During the change over at 6-5 Sugiyama called for the trainer due to the fact that her calves were bothering her as she would later point out in her press conference. After a three minute injury time out Sugiyama was back on the court receiving serve. Hantuchova quickly went down 0-30 on her serve but made it back to 30-30 thanks to a few sloppy errors by Ai. Sugiyama forced an error out of Hantuchova to give her her second match point at 30-40, only to blow it with a wide return of serve leveling the score at deuce. Sugiyama would once again get the ad and with it her third match point. Hantuchova missed her first serve and stepped back behind the baseline for a quick moment, as she approached the service line after bouncing the ball only three times, Dennis Overberg (or Overule as he later became known by fans) called a second time violation point penalty on Hantuchova and with it the match.
Sugiyama had won 6-4 1-6 7-5, leaving Hantuchova in shock at the baseline as she stared at the umpire's chair with her mouth wide open and tears beginning to weld up in her eyes. The crowd booed the decision very passionately while Sugiyama stood in front of the net looking up at the chair doubting whether the right decision had been made. Hantuchova handled it all with class as she shook hands with Sugiyama (who comforted her at net) and Overberg. In her press conference Daniela said that she thought the decision was unfair and was quite surprised at the three time violations she had received as she never remembered ever getting one before. The decision set off a frenzy around the grounds and Overberg had to be escorted off the court by security due to the strong fan reaction. It was by far the talk of the day.
huhh!! the umpire was so UNFAIR!!anyway daniela is very cool about it..maybe she was shocked!!